New York State Economic Development Council logo


                                                    Sarah Lee 2022 Robert T. Dormer Economic Developer of the Year                       

The NYSEDC Economic Development Awards program recognizes the state’s best economic development programs and partnerships, marketing materials, influential leaders, and rising stars. These awards honor organizations and individuals for their efforts in creating positive change in urban, suburban, and rural communities. Nominations are sent to an awards committee for consideration. Winners are recognized at Annual Meeting in Cooperstown.

Robert T. Dormer Economic Developer of the Year

The Robert T. Dormer Economic Developer of the Year is awarded each May to an economic developer who has made a substantial impact on his or her community and the economic development industry. Nominations should take into account as many of the following criteria as possible:Past Recipients:
2023    Kevin Younis, Empire State Development
2022    Sarah Lee, Th!nk Dutchess
2021    All NYS Economic Development Organizations
2019    Jeff Janiszewski, Empire State Development
2018    James Johnson, Steuben County IDA
2017    Steve Griffin, Finger Lake EDC
2016    Steve DiMeo & Joseph Russo, Mohawk Valley Edge and National Grid
2015    Judy Seil, Monroe County
2014    Thomas Kucharski, Invest Buffalo Niagara
2013    Adore Flynn Kurtz, Clinton County
2012    Steven G. Hyde, Genesse County EDC
2011    Al Culliton, Erie County IDA
2010    William G. Mannix, Town of Islip IDA 
2009    George Leveille, Harris Beach
2008    Donald Western, Onondaga County


Excellence in Marketing

The NYSEDC Excellence in Marketing Award recognizes an organization that has achieved measurable results telling its story about a project, redevelopment, rebranding, or community based initiative that serves the mission of NYSEDC, to promote the economic development of the state and its communities, encourage sound practices in the conduct of regional and statewide development programs, and develop education programs that enhance the professional development skills of NYSEDC members. This award is not limited to economic development organizations; marketing firms, workforce development organizations, higher education institutions, and non-profits are encouraged to apply. Nominations could a campaign, website, social media content, mobile marketing, targeted programming, digital media, video, multi-media, press event, or even a brochure. We want to hear how your marketing initiative is helping to better tell the story of economic development in New York State.


Project of the Year

The NYSEDC Project of the Year is presented to an organization that has completed a project that serves the mission of the NYSEDC, to promote the economic development of the state and its communities. 
Each nomination will be evaluated on the following criteria:PROJECT OF THE YEAR NOMINATION FORM

James W. Griffin Rising Star Award

The NYSEDC James W. Griffin Rising Star Award will honor an individual age 40 and under who has made a significant contribution to the economic development profession in New York. Consideration will be given to quality of service and impact on New York’s economy. This influence could be across the state or within an individual community. Nominees must be a member of NYSEDC.
Each of the following criteria must be addressed:RISING STAR NOMINATION FORM

Brian McMahon Lifetime Achievement Award

The NYSEDC Board of Directors has the authority to nominate and select an individual to receive the Brian McMahon Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated consistent, exemplary performance in the economic development profession, leading the execution of projects that have significant impact on revitalizing communities, and playing a major role in shaping and improving the practice of economic development in New York State. The recipient is given a lifelong membership in the NYSEDC.

Past Recipients: 
2023            Tony Catapano, Suffolk County IDA
2022            Fred Braun, Brookhaven IDA and LDC
2022            Rich Dixon, Chautauqua County IDA 
2021            Mike Manikowski, Ontario County Office of Economic Development
2020            Jim Griffin, City of Hornell IDA  and Bill Mannix, Town of Islip IDA
2019            Kevin McLaughlin, The Agency, Broome County and George Cregg, Hodgson Russ
2018            Mike Stamm, Tompkins County Area Development (TCAD)


Linda J. Hill Women's Leadership Award

The NYSEDC Women's Leadership and Diversity Council will select an individual to receive the Linda J. Hill Women's Leadership Award each year. This award is given to an individual who has chosen a career as an economic development professional, is a tireless champion for the projects they work on and the community they serve. This individual stands out for their selfless commitment to supporting their peers personally and professionally through mentorship, personal, and professional support. Like Linda J. Hill, this individual has a "can do" attitude is universally respected and admired but always carries themself with confidence and humility. 


2023        Jenna Kavanaugh, National Grid